Let It Go

I experienced crying myself to sleep,

Thinking of losing you made me so weak.

I think of you as mine,

Telling me you’ll leave scared the hell out of me.

A few years past when I finally accepted that you were never really mine.

You were just a lesson,

Maybe to toughen me up,

Or just to test my very existence.

You taught me a lot,

How to trust and how to lose it,

How to express what I feel and how to suppress it when I know you wouldn’t approve,

How to love and how to stay in love in spite of your flaws,

Lastly, how to let go when love is the only reason I’m staying.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Really good read feel the emotions❕😎 for epic poetry inspired Blog check: http://poetryinspired.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aimmeesephyr says:

      Thanks! I’ll sure check it out

      Like

Leave a Reply

