You+Me=WE

There I was sitting on the couch eating dried apples and drinking hot tea.

Almost losing my mind from boredom.

Then I thought of you.

Yes, You.

What are you doing right now?

Are you thnking of me too?

I glanced at my lamp and it reminded me of how we love to stare at the skies at night,

Hoping to see a wishing star.

And if it appears, we silently pray for the realization of our dreams.

Hand in hand we drift to sleep,

Anticipating that tomorrow, joy is what it brings.

As I open my eyes the next morning, it is your eyes that I see.

Without even doing anything, my day is complete.

As I go over my day it is you that I think about.

How I’m so eager to get home just for a chat.

Your simplicity is what makes my heart melt.

Your embrace is my weaknes; your kisses are my strength.

Then, it suddenly struck me.

With my now emptied dried apples and cold tea,

There was never a WE,

It has always been I.

Yes, I have lost my mind.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. If I had a beverage in my mouth while reading the last few lines, I would’ve done a spit take! I love your work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aimmeesephyr says:

      Wow! Thank you so much!

      Like

Leave a Reply

